[x] Welcome at THunting.com!

A fun place to talk about Metal Detecting, Treasure Hunting & Prospecting. Here you can share finds and experience with thousands of members from all over the world

Join us and Register Now - Its FREE & EASY

THunting.com
Treasure Hunting & Metal Detecting Community

Advanced Search
Welcome, Guest! Please login or register HERE - It is FREE and easy.
Only registered users can post and view images on our message boards.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with email, password and session length
Or Login Using Social Network Account
News:
Pages: 1    Go Down
Print
Share this topic on FacebookShare this topic on Del.icio.usShare this topic on DiggShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on Twitter
Tags:
Offline atomicsocalTopic starter
Copper Member

Thank you0

Activity
0%
Male
United States
Referrals: 0

230.00 Gold
View Inventory

Awards

BH Lone Star, Fisher F2
« on: May 29, 2010, 06:53:58 pm »
Go Up Go Down

Hello Everyone,
I'm fairly new to this and after reading alot of posts on here and other forums, I realize that location is the most important aspect of your coin hunting success. I've been doing some research on the history of my locale and found the 1st market (store) was opened here around 1870. The streets in the area have some vacant lots that don't appear to have ever been built on. So I go to one of the lots, no fences or signs are posted. 1 hour into the hunt, I a find a slaymaker padlock, at 4". I saw a similar one on e-bay (vintage brass slaymaker padlock) but no price or date. About 4 feet from the lock I found a half of a metal (rang as nickel on the F2) toy police badge (junior police), about 6". Using a highly sophisticated method of dating known as R.A.G. (rough ass guess) i say 1930-1940 for the slaymaker and 1950's for the toy police badge. I only covered approx. 400 sq ft of the lot. Is this a good indication that I could be in an area that may have some old coins? I figure if i'm finding stuff that is